Only state-licensed physicians and nurse practitioners can issue medical marijuana certifications to qualifying medical cannabis patients in Missouri. State law permits medical marijuana doctors to evaluate patients in person or online (telehealth) before recommending them for medical cannabis treatment. Healthcare providers must register with the state medical marijuana program before they can certify patients for medical marijuana use.
Yes. Missouri mandates qualifying medical marijuana patients to be evaluated and certified for medical marijuana use by state-licensed healthcare providers. A healthcare provider can certify a patient under 18 years with a qualifying medical condition, provided the minor has written consent from their parent or legal guardian.
Missouri permits only doctors of osteopathy (DOs), medical doctors (MDs), and nurse practitioners (NPs) to issue medical marijuana certifications to qualifying patients. They must have active and valid licenses from their respective state professional boards and must be registered with the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS).
No, Missouri does not have a database of registered medical marijuana doctors.
A qualifying medical cannabis patient in Missouri can ask their primary care provider if they are authorized to issue certification for medical marijuana use. If that healthcare provider cannot certify the patient for cannabis use, they can refer them to other Missouri medical marijuana doctors. Qualifying medical marijuana patients can also ask other registered medical cannabis patients to refer them to healthcare providers approved to issue medical marijuana certifications in the state.
Yes. Missouri medical marijuana doctors can evaluate and certify qualifying medical marijuana patients online, provided their qualifying medical conditions do not require physical examinations. Telemedicine provides a faster and more convenient means of assessing and certifying qualifying medical marijuana patients in the state.
Under the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program, healthcare providers can recommend up to 6 ounces of marijuana in 30 days to registered medical marijuana patients. Patients who are minors are also limited to 6 ounces of medical cannabis per month. However, Missouri medical marijuana doctors may recommend more than 6 ounces per month to patients if there are compelling reasons for such. They must indicate the recommended amount on patients’ certifications.