Missouri Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
In Missouri, a medical marijuana card is an identification card issued to medical marijuana patients and their caregivers under the Missouri Medical Marijuana Registry Program. A medical marijuana card allows a cardholder to purchase marijuana products from licensed marijuana dispensaries in the state. The Missouri Medical Marijuana Registry Program became effective in October 2020 after the legalization of medical marijuana in November 2018 through a ballot initiative to amend the Missouri Constitution.
There are three types of medical marijuana cards in Missouri:
The medical marijuana program is administered and regulated by the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS).
Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution permits only persons with certain qualifying medical conditions and their caregivers to apply for medical marijuana cards. In addition to adults, persons under the age of 18 years may apply for the medical marijuana card with the written consent of their parents or legal guardians. Parents or legal guardians of minors applying for medical marijuana cards must provide consent and be willing to serve as their primary caregivers.
The law permits persons previously convicted of crimes to apply for and obtain medical marijuana registry cards. However, the DHSS may revoke medical marijuana cards from registered patients or caregivers if convicted of criminal conduct after the medical marijuana cards were issued to them.
Yes, minors can obtain medical marijuana cards in Missouri, provided they have written consent from their parents or legal guardians. The parents or legal guardians of minors must complete and submit the Parent/Legal Guardian Consent forms on the DHSS website. However, minors cannot obtain patient cultivation identification cards.
Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, persons interested in applying for medical marijuana cards must be certified by physicians to have qualifying medical conditions as stipulated in the law. Physicians are doctors of osteopathy or medical doctors in good standing in Missouri. The qualifying medical conditions recognized by the constitution include:
Applications for Missouri medical marijuana cards can only be made through the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS). The Department only accepts applications via its secure, online registry.
Article XIV of the Missouri constitution permits a medical marijuana patient to designate up to two persons (caregivers) to assist them in using medical marijuana. A medical marijuana caregiver must be 21 years or older and must be designated on the patient’s primary caregiver application form. A caregiver can serve a maximum of three patients at a time. A primary caregiver can only apply for a medical marijuana identification card if a medical marijuana patient has designated them as their caregiver and the patient’s application has been approved. Parents or legal guardians of minors are mandated to serve as their primary caregivers.
Interested caregivers must register on the DHSS registry portal (Complia Application portal) after being designated by a medical marijuana patient. They will need the patient’s authorization form naming them as their designated caregiver and the patient's license number. Once registered on the portal, applicants can complete their application by clicking the “+Create Application” and “New Caregiver Registration” tabs. They will need the following documents to complete the application:
The Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) has up to 30 days to process an application. All medical marijuana registry card applications are processed in the order they are received. If the application is successful, the applicant will be sent an email to download the medical marijuana caregiver identification card. Otherwise, the applicant will be sent an email to make necessary corrections to the application.
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services processes all Missouri Medical Marijuana Registry identification card applications within 30 days. Medical marijuana cards are processed in the orders they are received. If an applicant has waited more than 30 days and has yet to receive the medical marijuana card or a rejection mail from the DHSS, then the applicant can use the physician certification to buy marijuana pending the conclusion of the application processing and for up to one year. Missouri medical marijuana cards are currently valid for 3 years.
Application for a Missouri medical marijuana card can only be made online. Applicants are to first register on the state’s Complia Application portal. After the registration, they can apply by clicking on the “+create Application” and “New Patient Registration” tabs. Applicants are advised to follow the application guide provided by the DHSS. They must have gotten their completed and signed physician certification forms from registered medical doctors or doctors of osteopathy. The physician certification forms must have been issued within 30 days of the application. Applicants will be required to provide the following information and documents while registering on the portal:
The DHSS will send an email indicating the status of an application after it has been processed. If an application is rejected, the department will email specific instructions on what corrections are needed. An applicant has up to 10 days to make necessary corrections and resubmit on the portal; otherwise, the application will be denied. Successful applicants can download their medical marijuana cards from the registry portal.
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) charges a fee for medical marijuana identification cards for patients and caregivers. The DHSS is permitted to adjust the fee yearly by the percentage increase or decrease of the Consumer Price Index (CPI) as published by the US Department of Labor. The current cost for a patient or caregiver medical marijuana identification card is $26.50. It also costs $26.50 for renewal. However, a patient cultivation medical marijuana identification card costs $53.
In Missouri, revenue from medical marijuana taxations and fees are used primarily to fund the medical marijuana registry program in the state. The remainder is transferred to the Missouri Veterans Commission for Health and care services for military veterans. The constitution provides for the creation of the Missouri Veterans’ Health and Care Fund, which will be funded by taxes and levies from medical marijuana.
Documents needed for a successful application for a Missouri medical marijuana registry card include:
A medical marijuana registry identification card in Missouri contains the following information:
Per Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, the DHSS are prohibited from disclosing patients’ and caregivers’ personal information to the public. The law only permits DHSS employees, registered physicians, specific law enforcement agencies, and licensed dispensary employees to have access to the registry. Cardholders who suspect their information has been disclosed to a third party can contact the department via email or call (866) 219-0165.